Send As SMS

Thursday, May 04, 2006

Eastern European Workers

EU law provides for the free movement of workers between member states. Under EU law, all member states are required to allow the free movement of workers from other member states. So whay is it that since the last batch of Eastern European countries joined the EU, only three countries are allowing unrestricted migration from from those new member states?

Only the UK, Sweden and the Republic of Ireland have allowed migrant workers from the new member states to come over in unrestricted quantities to flood our labour markets with cheap labour. France, on the other hand, is planning to further tighten its restrictions on migrant workers from Eastern Europe. The EU is strangely silent on this matter ...