WARNING: MSN Messenger fraud

! This post hasn't been updated in over a year. A lot can change in a year including my opinion and the amount of naughty words I use. There's a good chance that there's something in what's written below that someone will find objectionable. That's fine, if I tried to please everybody all of the time then I'd be a Lib Dem (remember them?) and I'm certainly not one of those. The point is, I'm not the kind of person to try and alter history in case I said something in the past that someone can use against me in the future but just remember that the person I was then isn't the person I am now nor the person I'll be in a year's time.

A word of warning to my readers on an MSN Messenger fraud that my 10 year old son fell for.

If you see a website that looks like this:

MSN Fraud


The terms and conditions on the page say that they may use your details to log in to your account and message your contacts to promote their website.  May means will.  They also, of course, have access to your contacts, conversation history, profile and if you’ve bought anything off Microsoft or another company through your MSN Messenger account, they’ll have those details too.

The site is run through a company called TST Management Inc, based in Panama but owned by a company based in Hong Kong.

The company owns over 800 domains all for the same thing.  I’ve reported this as fraud to the legal department of the registrant, namecheap.com but with so many domains from one customer I very much doubt they’ll do anything about it.

Technorati Technorati Tags: ,


  1. Icypurplepants (13 comments) says:

    There is a similar scam whereby Messenger users are invited to log on to a website to see which of their friends have blocked them. It might actually be related to the scam you highlight, I was sent the web link as an instant message from someone in my address book, and they knew nothing about it (the message), but had foolishly signed up.

    I am gobsmacked that people can be so naive, the next thing we know they’ll be signing up to help a Nigerian politician get millions out of his country.

  2. wonkotsane (1133 comments) says:

    You’re telling me that Mr Odabaye, the former Nigerian Oil Minister, is a fake? But he seemed so genuine when I sent him my credit card details …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.